How Can We Speak God’s Love Language?

Speaking God's Love Language - Grace Fox

What is God’s love language? It’s said that God’s love language is obedience. He feels most loved by us when we do what He says.

23Jesus replied, “All those who love me will do what I say. My Father will love them, and we will come to them and live with them. 24Anyone who doesn’t love me will not do what I say. (John 14:23-24 NLT)

Gary Chapman is credited for developing the concept of the five love languages.

They are:

  1. quality time
  2. physical touch
  3. affirming words
  4. gifts
  5. acts of service

One of my love languages is acts of service. This means I express love to others by doing things for them—baking their favorite cookies, babysitting, cleaning their house, etc. It also means I feel most loved when others do things for me.

My husband has nailed this in our relationship. He serves me by crossing the US border to pick up books that my publisher has shipped, importing them, and bringing them to my office. He fixes my computer and printer glitches, helps with doing the laundry, washes dishes, and more.

On the flipside, his love languages are quality time and physical touch. He feels most loved when I sit with him to watch a movie or do an activity with him. Riding motorcycle together makes him feel loved because we’re touching as we spend time together.

So—what’s God’s love language?

In other words, what makes Him feel most loved?

It’s said that God’s love language is obedience. He feels most loved by us when we do what He says.

What does that look like?

He tells us to forgive rather than hold a grudge against someone who’s hurt us, and we do it.

He tells us to speak life-giving words rather than criticism and gossip, and we do it.

He tells us to express our worries to Him, and we do it.

We don’t just nod and agree to do what He says; we actually put His directives into action. We apply them even when they go against our natural desires.

“If you love me, obey my commandments,” said Jesus (John 14:15).

How about you?

What’s one thing you can do today to show your love for the Father?

If you haven’t yet figured out your love language, I encourage you to take the 5 long languages quiz.

Know you are loved,


Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.